Garmin R10 vs R50: radar Approach R10 or all-in-one Approach R50? (2026)

Garmin R10 vs R50: price, sensors, spin data, room size, software and three-year cost of Garmin's two launch monitors, from seller pages checked 20 October 2026.

Illustration for Garmin Approach R10 vs Garmin Approach R50: two products side by side, in Sim Bay Verdict colors

Garmin Approach R10 or Garmin Approach R50: which should you pick?

If you arePickWhy
The lowest price and a first simulatorGarmin Approach R10

$499.99 against $4,999.99. Both use the same Garmin Golf membership for Home Tee Hero courses, so the yearly cost is the same.

A short garage, basement or spare roomGarmin Approach R50

The R50 sits beside the ball. The R10 must sit 6 to 8 feet behind the tee, so your room needs that extra depth.

Spin numbers you can trust indoors with any ballGarmin Approach R50

Garmin says the R50’s cameras read total spin and spin axis indoors and outdoors with any ball. The R10 measures total spin indoors only with Titleist RCT balls.

Driving range practiceGarmin Approach R10

It weighs 148 g and runs up to 10 hours. The R50 weighs 9 lb and runs up to 4 hours.

No laptop, phone or PCGarmin Approach R50

Home Tee Hero runs on its 10-inch touchscreen, and it can drive a projector or monitor. The R10 needs a paired phone or tablet with the Garmin Golf app.

Garmin R10 vs R50 comes down to room depth and budget. Buy the Garmin R10 if you want a cheap, pocket-sized radar unit for a deep garage and the driving range. Buy the Garmin R50 if your room is short, you want spin read by cameras with any ball, and you want a simulator that runs without a laptop.

This comparison uses Shop Indoor Golf’s R10 and R50 product pages, Garmin’s R50 launch press release and its “3 key differences” article, PlayBetter’s Garmin store and R50 space guide, and Carl’s Golfland’s R10 page, all read on 20 October 2026. We have not tested either unit, so the page is labeled as researched. See how we research and rate products.

Garmin R10 vs R50 at a glance

Garmin Approach R10 Garmin Approach R50
Price checked 20 Oct 2026 $499.99 ($599.99 compare-at) at Shop Indoor Golf; $499.99 at Carl’s Golfland and PlayBetter $4,999.99 at Shop Indoor Golf (Garmin MSRP “starting at $4,999.99”)
Technology Doppler radar Three high-speed cameras
Where it sits 6 to 8 ft behind the tee Beside the ball
Screen None; uses your phone or tablet 10-inch color touchscreen, plus HDMI out
Simulator software Home Tee Hero through the Garmin Golf app Home Tee Hero on the unit
Third-party software GSPro, E6 Connect, E6 by TruGolf, Awesome Golf, TGC 2019, Creative Golf GSPro, E6, Awesome Golf (separate PC or device needed)
Membership Garmin Golf $99.99 a year or $9.99 a month Garmin Golf $99 a year (Shop Indoor Golf R50 page)
Battery Up to 10 hours Up to 4 hours
Size and weight 3.5 x 2.8 x 1 in, 148 g without tripod 16.5 x 10.6 x 7.5 in, 9 lb
Club stickers Not needed Needed for club data (250 included)
Warranty Not stated on the pages we read Not stated on the pages we read

PlayBetter’s comparison gives the R50 as 17 x 12 x 7 inches, slightly different from Shop Indoor Golf’s figures. Neither seller page we read stated a warranty term, so ask before you buy.

Garmin R10 vs R50 data: what each measures

Garmin says both units track more than 15 ball and club metrics. The difference is how they get them.

Garmin R10. Carl’s Golfland lists 14 data points: club head speed, club face angle, club path, angle of attack, ball speed, launch angle, launch direction, spin axis, spin rate, apex height, smash factor, carry, total distance and deviation. Garmin’s own article says the R10 calculates spin axis from ball flight outdoors, and measures total spin indoors only when you use Titleist RCT balls.

Garmin R50. Shop Indoor Golf lists ball speed, launch angle, launch direction, spin axis, spin rate, apex height, carry, total distance and deviation, plus club head speed, face angle, angle of attack and smash factor. Garmin says it reads total spin and spin axis indoors and outdoors, works with any ball, and needs a sticker on the club face for club data. Club path is not on Shop Indoor Golf’s R50 list, although Garmin’s own count is “more than 15” metrics.

Where the Garmin R50 beats the R10

Room depth. The R50 sits next to the ball. PlayBetter’s space guide suggests at least 10 feet wide, 10 feet deep and 9 feet high for it, and says it needs far less depth than the R10. That can decide it in a one-car garage or a basement. Our guide to how much space you need for a golf simulator shows the maths.

No device needed. Home Tee Hero runs on the R50’s 10-inch touchscreen, and Garmin says it can connect to a monitor or projector. PlayBetter timed 40 seconds from switching it on to a first tee shot.

Spin with any ball. Cameras read the ball at impact, so you are not tied to RCT balls indoors, and Garmin says wind has little effect outdoors.

Multiplayer. Garmin’s release says the R50 plays up to four golfers in a virtual round, with weekly tournaments and a leaderboard that need an active Garmin Golf membership.

Where the Garmin R10 beats the R50

Price. The R10 costs a tenth of the R50. You could buy the R10, a complete enclosure package and years of membership for less than the R50 on its own.

Portability. At 148 g with up to 10 hours of battery, the R10 fits in a golf bag. The R50 weighs 9 lb, comes with a carry case and runs up to 4 hours.

Left- and right-handed golfers. The R10 sits behind the ball, so it stays put when a lefty and a righty take turns. PlayBetter notes that a side-mounted unit like the R50 must be moved to the other side of the ball.

More third-party software listed. Carl’s Golfland lists six programs for the R10, including GSPro and E6. Read our Garmin R10 review for setup tips.

Garmin R10 vs R50 pricing over three years

Garmin Approach R10 Garmin Approach R50
Unit $499.99 $4,999.99
Garmin Golf, three years $299.97 at $99.99 a year $297 at $99 a year ($299.97 at $99.99)
Three-year total $799.96 $5,296.99 to $5,299.96
Retractable garage package Not sold as a garage package on the pages we read $6,999.99 (Shop Indoor Golf R50 Garage, 8 ft door)

GSPro, E6 and other third-party programs cost extra on both. The R10 also needs a phone or tablet, and the R50 needs a PC or device only for third-party software.

Which is easier to set up, the Garmin R10 or R50?

The R50 is quicker to set up in a short room. You place it beside the ball, power it on and align it, and its own screen runs the game. The R10 is small and light but needs careful placement: Shop Indoor Golf and Carl’s Golfland both say 6 to 8 feet behind the tee, and Carl’s suggests the tee sit 10 to 12 feet from the impact screen.

How to choose between the Garmin R10 and R50

  • Budget under $1,000 in total? Buy the R10.
  • Room less than about 16 feet deep? The R50, or another unit beside the ball, is the safer choice.
  • Want to play without a laptop or phone? The R50.
  • Mostly practice at the range? The R10.
  • Building a garage setup you can roll away? Compare packages in our best golf simulator for garage list, or see how the R10 stacks up against other brands in SkyTrak vs Garmin R10.

Garmin Approach R10: check current pricingGarmin Approach R50: check current pricing

Garmin Approach R10 vs Garmin Approach R50: frequently asked questions

What is the difference between the Garmin R10 and R50?

The R10 is a $499.99 radar unit that sits behind you and runs through the Garmin Golf app on your phone. The R50 is a $4,999.99 three-camera unit that sits beside the ball, has a 10-inch touchscreen and runs Garmin’s Home Tee Hero simulator on the unit itself.

Is the Garmin R50 worth it over the R10?

Only if you need what the cameras and screen bring: accurate indoor spin with any ball, a short room, and no laptop. For most first-time buyers the R10 does the job for a tenth of the price, and both use the same Garmin Golf membership.

Is the Garmin R50 more accurate than the R10?

Garmin does not publish accuracy figures for either unit on the pages we read. It says the R50’s cameras read the ball at impact, so wind has little effect, and that it measures total spin and spin axis directly. The R10 measures total spin indoors only with Titleist RCT balls.

Do the Garmin R10 and R50 need a subscription?

Both need a Garmin Golf membership for Home Tee Hero’s 43,000-plus courses. Shop Indoor Golf lists it at $99.99 a year or $9.99 a month on its R10 page and $99 a year on its R50 page. Third-party software such as GSPro is paid for separately.

Does the Garmin R50 work with GSPro?

Yes. Garmin and Shop Indoor Golf both list GSPro, E6 and Awesome Golf for the R50, but Shop Indoor Golf says third-party software needs a separate PC or device. The R10 is listed for GSPro, E6 Connect, Awesome Golf, TGC 2019 and Creative Golf.