Garmin Approach R10 or Rapsodo MLM2PRO: which should you pick?
| If you are | Pick | Why |
|---|---|---|
| The lowest total cost over three years | Garmin Approach R10 | $499.99 on sale plus $99.99 a year is $799.96 over three years. The MLM2PRO at $549.99 plus $199.99 a year is $1,149.96. |
| Measured spin and club path for swing work | Rapsodo MLM2PRO | Rapsodo lists spin rate, spin axis, club path and angle of attack as measured (with RPT balls and Premium). A retailer we read says the R10 calculates spin. |
| Using it at the driving range as much as at home | Garmin Approach R10 | Up to 10 hours of battery, an IPX7 water rating and a 148 g body. Rapsodo’s pages did not state battery life. |
| Someone who wants swing video of impact | Rapsodo MLM2PRO | Rapsodo lists an Impact Vision camera at 240 frames per second, plus a second angle from your phone. |
Garmin R10 vs Rapsodo MLM2PRO is the classic budget launch monitor choice for a home golf simulator. The short answer: buy the Garmin R10 if you want the lowest cost and a range-friendly unit, and buy the Rapsodo MLM2PRO if you want measured spin and club path and will pay $199.99 a year for them.
This comparison uses Rapsodo’s own product and membership pages, Garmin’s R10 owner’s manual, and R10 retailer pages (Top Shelf Golf, PGA Tour Superstore, Indoor Golf Outlet), all read on 16 October 2026. We have not tested either unit, so the page is labeled as researched. See how we research and rate products.
Garmin R10 vs Rapsodo MLM2PRO at a glance
| Garmin Approach R10 | Rapsodo MLM2PRO | |
|---|---|---|
| Price checked | $499.99 sale ($599.99 regular), 16 Oct 2026 | $549.99 at Rapsodo ($699.99 regular), 17 Oct 2026; same at Shop Indoor Golf |
| Membership | $99.99/yr or $9.99/mo; 30-day trial | $199.99/yr, $329.99/2 yrs, $599.99 lifetime; 45-day trial |
| Spin | Calculated, per Indoor Golf Outlet | Measured with RPT balls (Premium) |
| Club data | Club head speed and more | Club speed, club path, angle of attack |
| Video | Phone clips with stats overlaid | Impact Vision camera at 240 fps, plus phone angle |
| Courses | 42,000+ in Home Tee Hero (membership) | 30,000+ (Premium) |
| Third-party software | E6 Connect, E6 APEX, GSPro, Awesome Golf, TGC 2019 | GSPro, E6 Connect, E6 Apex, Awesome Golf |
| Room depth | 6-8 ft behind tee + 8 ft to net | 6.5-8.5 ft behind ball + about 8 ft to net |
| Battery | Up to 10 hours | Not stated |
| In the box | Unit, tripod, phone mount, case, cable | Unit, tripod, case, cable, 3 RPT balls |
Where the Garmin R10 beats the MLM2PRO
Price and running cost. The R10 costs $100 less at full sale price and its membership is half the price. Over three years the difference is about $400 in the R10’s favor.
Portability and battery. At 148 g without its tripod and up to 10 hours per charge, with an IPX7 water rating, the R10 is built to live in a golf bag. Rapsodo’s pages did not list battery life or weight.
No special balls. The R10 reports spin with any ball, though Indoor Golf Outlet recommends RCT balls indoors. The MLM2PRO shows no spin numbers at all without RPT balls, which cost $69.99 a dozen at Rapsodo.
Read our full Garmin R10 review for the specs and room planning.
Where the Rapsodo MLM2PRO beats the R10
Measured spin and club path. Rapsodo lists 8 measured data points: ball speed, launch angle, launch direction, club speed, spin rate, spin axis, club path and angle of attack. If you are changing your swing, measured spin and path tell you more than calculated numbers.
Impact video. The Impact Vision camera captures impact and early ball flight at 240 frames per second, and Shot Vision adds a second angle from your phone.
A lifetime option. Rapsodo offers a one-time $599.99 lifetime membership. The Garmin Golf prices we found were monthly and yearly only.
Garmin R10 vs Rapsodo MLM2PRO pricing over three years
| Cost | Garmin R10 | Rapsodo MLM2PRO |
|---|---|---|
| Unit | $499.99 | $549.99 |
| Membership, 3 years | $299.97 | $599.97 (or $599.99 lifetime) |
| RPT balls, 1 dozen | Not needed | $69.99 (3 included) |
| Total | $799.96 | $1,149.96, plus $69.99 per extra dozen balls |
Prices from Top Shelf Golf (R10, Garmin Golf) and rapsodo.com (MLM2PRO, Premium, balls). Rapsodo cut the MLM2PRO from $599.99 to $549.99 between our checks on 16 and 17 October 2026, matching Shop Indoor Golf. For more detail, read our Rapsodo MLM2PRO review.
Which is easier to set up at home?
Both sit behind the ball and pair with a phone or tablet, so setup is similar. The R10 has a slightly more forgiving window: 6 to 8 feet behind the tee, with the tee movable a foot either side of the line. The MLM2PRO wants 6.5 to 8.5 feet. Either way, plan for at least 14 feet from back wall to screen and add room for taller players. Rapsodo mirrors to a TV with AirPlay or screen mirroring, or to a projector with an HDMI adapter.
How to choose between the Garmin R10 and MLM2PRO
- Pick the R10 if cost is the main limit, you will also use it at the range, or you mostly want to play virtual rounds.
- Pick the MLM2PRO if you want measured spin and club path for practice and accept the higher membership and RPT balls.
- If your room is short, consider a unit that sits beside the ball instead. Our best golf simulator for home list includes the Square Golf Omni, which needs no room behind you (see our Square Golf Omni review).
See the Garmin R10 price or see the Rapsodo MLM2PRO price.
Garmin Approach R10: check current pricingRapsodo MLM2PRO: check current pricing
Garmin Approach R10 vs Rapsodo MLM2PRO: frequently asked questions
Is the Garmin R10 or Rapsodo MLM2PRO more accurate?
We have not tested either, so we cannot rank accuracy. On paper the MLM2PRO lists measured spin rate and spin axis with RPT balls, while a retailer we read says the R10 calculates spin. For spin-sensitive practice, that gives the MLM2PRO the edge.
Which is cheaper, the Garmin R10 or the MLM2PRO?
The R10. It was $499.99 on sale against $549.99 for the MLM2PRO at Rapsodo and Shop Indoor Golf. Its membership is also cheaper: $99.99 a year against $199.99 a year for Rapsodo Premium.
Do you need a subscription for the MLM2PRO?
For its best features, yes. Rapsodo lists measured spin, club path, angle of attack, 30,000+ courses and third-party compatibility under Premium. It costs $199.99 a year, $329.99 for two years or $599.99 once for lifetime, after a 45-day free trial.
Do they both work with GSPro and E6?
Yes. Rapsodo lists GSPro, E6 Connect, E6 Apex and Awesome Golf. Retailers list GSPro, E6 Connect, E6 APEX, Awesome Golf and TGC 2019 for the R10. The software is sold separately.
Which needs less room?
They are close. The R10 needs 6 to 8 feet behind the tee and 8 feet to the net, so 14 to 16 feet. Rapsodo asks for a little more than 14 feet: 6.5 to 8.5 feet behind the ball and about 8 feet to the net.




