Best golf simulator for home: 5 launch monitors by budget (2026)

The best golf simulator for home by budget: Garmin R10, Rapsodo MLM2PRO, Square Omni, SkyTrak ST MAX and Garmin R50, with prices and memberships checked.

Illustration for Best golf simulator for home: a ranked list of products, in Sim Bay Verdict colors
  1. 1. Garmin Approach R10: best budget launch monitor

    Best for
    First-time buyers who want a cheap, portable radar unit for a garage net and the driving range
    Price from
    $499.99 on sale ($599.99 regular); Garmin Golf membership $99.99 a year or $9.99 a month

    The R10 is the cheapest way into simulator golf on this list. Two retailers listed it at $499.99 on 16 October 2026, down from $599.99. It is small (3.5 x 2.8 x 1 inches), runs up to 10 hours on a charge and sits 6 to 8 feet behind the ball. The catch: virtual courses in Garmin’s own Home Tee Hero need a Garmin Golf membership, and a retailer we read notes that the R10 calculates spin rather than measuring it.

    Check current pricingRead our review

  2. 2. Rapsodo MLM2PRO: best budget pick for measured spin

    Best for
    Golfers on a budget who want measured spin numbers and are fine paying a yearly membership
    Price from
    $549.99 at Rapsodo and Shop Indoor Golf ($699.99 regular); membership from $199.99 a year

    Rapsodo lists 8 measured data points on the MLM2PRO, including spin rate, spin axis, club path and angle of attack. Spin only shows with Rapsodo’s RPT-marked balls, and the measured spin and club data sit in the Premium membership ($199.99 a year, $329.99 for two years or $599.99 lifetime, after a 45-day free trial). It works with GSPro, E6 Connect, E6 Apex and Awesome Golf. Indoors it needs a little more than 14 feet of depth.

    Check current pricingRead our review

  3. 3. Square Golf Omni: best under $2,000 with no software subscription

    Best for
    Golfers who want camera-based ball and club data without a yearly membership to run GSPro or E6
    Price from
    $1,599 at Shop Indoor Golf and Rain or Shine Golf

    The Omni is a four-camera unit that sits beside you, 14 to 20 inches from the tee, so it suits shorter rooms better than units that sit behind the ball. Shop Indoor Golf’s page says it needs no subscription fees to run third-party software (you still buy GSPro or E6 itself) and lists ball data plus club path, face angle, dynamic loft, angle of attack and impact location. The suggested room is 9 feet high, 10 feet wide and 12 feet deep. On 17 October 2026 both sellers we read were taking pre-order deposits for new stock.

    Check current pricingRead our review

  4. 4. SkyTrak ST MAX: best for a dedicated simulator studio

    Best for
    Golfers building a permanent room who want camera ball data, radar club data and big-name course packs
    Price from
    $1,695 on sale ($2,995 regular), with 1 year of Core (Foresight) membership included

    SkyTrak’s ST MAX pairs a photometric camera for ball data with dual Doppler radar for club data, including face angle and face-to-path. The sale price includes a free year of the Core (Foresight) plan. After that, plans run from $99.99 a year (Essential, no course play) to $599.99 a year (Elite). Watch the warranty: 6 months or 25,000 shots, whichever comes first, and the battery is rated at 4 hours.

    Check current pricingRead our review

  5. 5. Garmin Approach R50: best premium all-in-one simulator

    Best for
    Golfers with a big budget who want a built-in screen and simulator with no laptop or tablet
    Price from
    $4,999.99

    The R50 is a three-camera unit with a 10-inch touchscreen and Garmin’s Home Tee Hero simulator built in, with more than 43,000 courses according to Garmin. It measures spin rate and spin axis, works with GSPro and Awesome Golf, and plays up to four golfers. Multiplayer and weekly tournaments still need a Garmin Golf membership. At $4,999.99 it costs ten times an R10, so it only makes sense if the all-in-one design matters to you.

    Check current pricing

The best golf simulator for home depends on three numbers: your budget, the size of your room and how much you will pay each year for software. This list ranks five launch monitors, the part that turns a net or screen into a simulator, from the $499.99 Garmin Approach R10 up to the $4,999.99 Garmin Approach R50. For most people starting out, the R10 or the Rapsodo MLM2PRO is the right first buy.

We built this page from the sellers’ own product, membership and space pages, read on 16 October 2026; the Rapsodo, SkyTrak and Square Golf prices were re-checked on 17 October 2026. We have not hit balls on these units, so the page is labeled as researched. See how we research and rate products for what that means.

How we chose these home golf simulators

A launch monitor’s headline price hides two costs that matter just as much: the membership you pay every year and the room it needs. For each unit we recorded:

  1. The price on the seller’s site today, and the regular price where a sale was shown.
  2. The yearly membership, what it unlocks and whether the unit is useful without it.
  3. The space it needs, in feet behind the ball, to the screen and overall.
  4. What it measures, and whether spin is measured or calculated where the seller says so.
  5. Who should skip it.

Home golf simulators compared: price, membership and space

Launch monitor Price checked 16 Oct 2026 Yearly membership How it tracks Space notes
Garmin Approach R10 $499.99 sale ($599.99 regular) Garmin Golf $99.99/yr or $9.99/mo Radar 6-8 ft behind ball; 8 ft minimum to net
Rapsodo MLM2PRO $549.99 at Rapsodo (17 Oct) and Shop Indoor Golf Premium $199.99/yr, $329.99/2 yrs, $599.99 lifetime Not stated on the pages we read; spin needs RPT balls A little over 14 ft deep in total
Square Golf Omni $1,599 No subscription for third-party software Four cameras, beside the golfer 9 ft ceiling, 10 ft wide, 12 ft deep
SkyTrak ST MAX $1,695 sale ($2,995 regular) 1st year Core included; then $99.99-$599.99/yr Camera (ball) and dual radar (club) Studio sizes from 8 ft wide
Garmin Approach R50 $4,999.99 Garmin Golf for multiplayer and tournaments Three cameras, built-in screen Not stated on the pages we read

Prices are in US dollars. Sale prices change often, so check the seller’s page before you buy.

What the first year really costs

Add the launch monitor to one year of the membership you would need for course play:

  • Garmin R10: $499.99 + $99.99 = $599.98 (after a 30-day free trial).
  • Rapsodo MLM2PRO: $549.99 + $199.99 = $749.98 (after a 45-day free trial).
  • SkyTrak ST MAX: $1,695, because the first year of Core (Foresight) is included. Year two costs $299.99 for the same plan.
  • Square Golf Omni: $1,599, plus the license for GSPro or E6 if you want those.

Third-party software such as GSPro, E6 Connect and Awesome Golf is sold separately for every unit here.

Full golf simulator packages for home

A launch monitor on its own is only half a simulator. You also need something to hit into (a net or an enclosure with an impact screen), a hitting mat and a screen or projector. Packages bundle these. Here is what Shop Indoor Golf listed on 16 October 2026:

Package Price Room it asks for
Garmin Approach R10 SIG10 package From $3,599.99 ($3,699.99 regular) with a 5’ x 5’ mat 12 ft wide, 9 ft ceiling, at least 12 ft deep
Rapsodo packages with enclosure and impact screen From $1,499.98 Varies by package
SkyTrak ST MAX packages with enclosure and impact screen From $3,895 Varies by package

The R10 SIG10 package includes the R10, an enclosure with an 8‘4” high, 10‘10” wide and 5’ deep frame, a hitting mat, landing turf and a projector, which you can swap or remove. Shop Indoor Golf lists free shipping to the lower 48 states with exclusions, and a 30-day return policy where you pay return shipping and a restocking fee.

For six complete setups with checked prices, see our best golf simulator under $5,000 list, and measure your room first with our guide to how much space you need for a golf simulator.

How to choose the best golf simulator for your home

Measure the room first. Ceiling height decides whether you can swing a driver at all. Most packages we read ask for a 9-foot ceiling. Depth decides which launch monitor fits: radar units that sit behind you need 6 to 8.5 feet behind the ball plus at least 8 feet to the net.

Decide what data you need. If you mostly want to play virtual courses for fun, a budget unit is enough. If you are working on your swing, look for measured spin and club data such as face angle and club path. Garmin’s R10 calculates spin according to a retailer we read; the MLM2PRO measures it with RPT balls; the ST MAX and Omni list club face data.

Price the membership for three years, not one. A $199.99-a-year membership adds $600 over three years, more than the cost of an R10.

Check the software you want to use. If you plan to play GSPro, check that the unit supports it and budget for a gaming PC, which a retailer we read says GSPro needs.

For a closer look at the two most popular budget units, read our Garmin R10 vs Rapsodo MLM2PRO comparison, our Garmin R10 review and our Rapsodo MLM2PRO review. For pricier units, see our SkyTrak ST MAX review and Square Golf Omni review.

Who should skip a home golf simulator for now

If you have less than a 9-foot ceiling and cannot swing a driver freely, a simulator will frustrate you. A launch monitor used on the driving range, or a net-only setup for irons, may be a better start. Also skip it if the yearly membership would stop you using it: a unit with no membership and no software is mostly a driving range readout.

Frequently asked questions about home golf simulators

What is the best golf simulator for home on a budget?

On price alone, the Garmin Approach R10 at $499.99 (sale) is the cheapest launch monitor on our list. The Rapsodo MLM2PRO costs a little more but lists measured spin and club path with its Premium membership and RPT balls. Add a net, mat and software, or buy a package, to turn either into a full simulator.

How much does a home golf simulator cost in total?

A launch monitor alone starts around $500, but a full setup costs much more. Shop Indoor Golf lists Garmin R10 SIG10 packages from $3,599.99, Rapsodo packages with an enclosure and impact screen from $1,499.98, and SkyTrak ST MAX packages from $3,895. Add any yearly membership and simulator software.

How much room do I need for a golf simulator at home?

Most packages we read ask for about 12 feet of depth, 10 to 12 feet of width and a 9-foot ceiling. Shop Indoor Golf’s R10 SIG10 package lists a 12-foot-wide room, 9-foot ceiling and at least 12 feet of depth. Units that sit behind the ball, like the R10 and MLM2PRO, need 6 to 8.5 feet behind the ball on top of the distance to the screen.

Do home golf simulators need a subscription?

Most do, for at least some features. Garmin Golf is $99.99 a year for Home Tee Hero courses, Rapsodo Premium starts at $199.99 a year, and SkyTrak plans run $99.99 to $599.99 a year. Shop Indoor Golf says the Square Golf Omni needs no subscription to run third-party software, though you still buy that software.

Is a camera or radar launch monitor better indoors?

It depends more on where the unit sits than on the technology. The Garmin R10 (radar) sits 6 to 8 feet behind the ball, so it needs extra depth. The Square Golf Omni (cameras) sits beside you, 14 to 20 inches from the tee, so it needs no room behind you. Check each seller’s space guide against your room before you buy.