SkyTrak ST MAX or Garmin Approach R10: which should you pick?
| If you are | Pick | Why |
|---|---|---|
| The lowest price and running cost | Garmin Approach R10 | $499.99 on sale against $1,695 for the ST MAX. Garmin Golf is $99.99 a year; SkyTrak plans with course play start at $299.99 a year after the free first year. |
| A short room or a dedicated indoor studio | SkyTrak ST MAX | The ST MAX sits beside the ball, so it needs no space behind you. The R10 sits 6 to 8 feet behind the ball, and Garmin lists a 15-foot-long room as the minimum. |
| Playing GSPro or E6 Connect | Garmin Approach R10 | Carl’s Golfland lists E6 Connect, GSPro, Awesome Golf and more for the R10. SkyTrak’s pages list no third-party software for the ST MAX. |
| Practice at the driving range as well as at home | Garmin Approach R10 | It weighs 148 g, runs up to 10 hours and is rated IPX7. The ST MAX battery is rated at 4 hours. |
| Face angle and face-to-path from a camera-based unit | SkyTrak ST MAX | SkyTrak lists club path, face angle and face-to-path from dual Doppler radar, alongside photometric camera ball data. |
SkyTrak vs Garmin R10 comes down to budget and room. Buy the Garmin R10 if you want the cheapest good launch monitor, GSPro or E6 support and a unit you can take to the range. Buy the SkyTrak ST MAX if you are building a dedicated indoor room, have little depth behind you and want camera ball data with radar club data.
This comparison uses SkyTrak’s ST MAX product page and membership plans page, Garmin R10 setup guidance and specs on PlayBetter’s help center, and R10 retail pages at Carl’s Golfland and Scheels, all read on 19 October 2026. “SkyTrak” here means the current ST MAX; the older SkyTrak+ is still sold by some retailers. We have not tested either unit, so the page is labeled as researched. See how we research and rate products.
SkyTrak vs Garmin R10 at a glance
| SkyTrak ST MAX | Garmin Approach R10 | |
|---|---|---|
| Price checked 19 Oct 2026 | $1,695 sale ($2,995 regular) at SkyTrak | $499.99 sale ($599.99 regular) at Scheels; $499.99 at Carl’s Golfland |
| Technology | Photometric camera + dual Doppler radar | Radar |
| Where it sits | Beside the ball | 6 to 8 ft behind the ball |
| Membership | 1 year free Core (Foresight) with purchase; then $99.99 to $599.99 a year | Garmin Golf $99.99 a year or $9.99 a month (needed for virtual rounds) |
| Third-party software | None listed by SkyTrak | E6 Connect, E6 by TruGolf, GSPro, Awesome Golf, TGC 2019, Creative Golf |
| Battery | 4 hours | Up to 10 hours |
| Size and weight | 6.875 x 5.75 x 2.5 in, 1.7 lb | 3.5 x 2.8 x 1 in, 148 g without tripod |
| Warranty | 6 months or 25,000 shots | Not stated on the pages we read |
| Minimum room | About 10 x 10 x 9 ft (PlayBetter guideline) | 15 x 8 x 8 ft (Garmin guidance) |
SkyTrak vs Garmin R10 data: what each measures
SkyTrak ST MAX lists ball data (carry and total distance, ball speed, back spin, side spin, launch angle, side angle, descent angle and shot shape) and club data (club head speed, smash factor, club path, face angle and face-to-path).
Garmin R10 is listed by Carl’s Golfland with 14 ball and club data points, including club head speed, face angle, club path, angle of attack, ball speed, launch angle, spin rate and spin axis. Carl’s lists accuracy for club speed (±3 mph), ball speed (±1 mph), launch angle and direction (±1°) and carry (±5 yards), but gives no accuracy figure for spin. The seller pages we read did not say whether R10 spin is measured or calculated.
Where the SkyTrak ST MAX beats the Garmin R10
Room depth. The ST MAX sits beside the ball, so you need no 6 to 8 feet behind you. In a garage or basement that is short front to back, that can decide it. Our guide to how much space you need for a golf simulator shows the maths.
Camera ball data plus radar club data. SkyTrak lists face angle and face-to-path, the numbers that explain a slice or hook, from its dual Doppler radar.
Big-name course packs. SkyTrak’s Core plans add Foresight (51 courses, $299.99 a year) or TrackMan (53 courses, $349.99 a year) course packs, and Elite ($599.99 a year) adds both. The first year of Core (Foresight) is free with an ST MAX purchase, per SkyTrak’s page.
Read our full SkyTrak ST MAX review for the membership details.
Where the Garmin R10 beats the SkyTrak ST MAX
Price. At $499.99, the R10 costs under a third of the ST MAX sale price. Over three years with Garmin Golf, that is $799.96. The ST MAX with the free first year and two more years of Core (Foresight) is $2,294.98.
Third-party software. Carl’s Golfland lists E6 Connect, GSPro, Awesome Golf, TGC 2019 and Creative Golf for the R10, plus 5 free E6 Connect courses on iOS. SkyTrak lists no third-party software for the ST MAX, so you are tied to SkyTrak’s own app.
Portability. The R10 is 148 g, runs up to 10 hours per charge and carries an IPX7 water rating, so it works at the driving range. The ST MAX battery is rated at 4 hours.
Left- and right-handed players. The R10 sits behind the ball, so it does not need moving. PlayBetter notes that side-mounted units such as the ST MAX must be moved when a lefty and a righty swap.
Read our full Garmin R10 review for setup tips.
SkyTrak vs Garmin R10 pricing over three years
| SkyTrak ST MAX | Garmin Approach R10 | |
|---|---|---|
| Unit (sale price) | $1,695 | $499.99 |
| Year 1 membership | $0 (free Core: Foresight) | $99.99 |
| Years 2 and 3 | $599.98 (Core: Foresight) or $199.98 (Essential, no course play) | $199.98 |
| Three-year total | $2,294.98 with Core, $1,894.98 with Essential | $799.96 |
SkyTrak’s own plans page showed Essential at $99.99 a year on 19 October 2026, while Shop Indoor Golf’s SkyTrak pages list it at $129.99. We use SkyTrak’s figure.
Which is easier to set up, SkyTrak or Garmin R10?
The R10 is easier to move, but needs more precise room space. Garmin’s guidance places it 6 to 8 feet behind the ball, with 7 feet as ideal, and the ball at least 8 feet from the net. Carl’s Golfland suggests 10 to 12 feet from tee to impact screen. The ST MAX sits next to the hitting area, so placement is simpler in a short room, but you must move it to the other side for left-handed golfers.
How to choose between SkyTrak and Garmin R10
- Under $1,000 in total? Buy the R10.
- Want GSPro or E6? Buy the R10, or look at the Rapsodo MLM2PRO.
- Room shorter than 15 feet? The ST MAX (or another unit beside the ball) is the safer choice.
- Building a full studio with a package? Compare full setups in our best golf simulator under $5,000 list.
- Worried about the warranty? SkyTrak’s 6-month or 25,000-shot cover is short for a $1,695 device; ask any R10 seller for its warranty term in writing.
SkyTrak ST MAX: check current pricingGarmin Approach R10: check current pricing
SkyTrak ST MAX vs Garmin Approach R10: frequently asked questions
Is SkyTrak better than the Garmin R10?
For a dedicated indoor room, SkyTrak’s ST MAX has the edge on paper: it sits beside the ball and pairs camera ball data with radar club data. The Garmin R10 is better value, more portable and works with GSPro and E6. We have not tested either, so we cannot rank their accuracy.
Which is cheaper, SkyTrak or Garmin R10?
The Garmin R10, by a wide margin. It was $499.99 on sale at Scheels and Carl’s Golfland on 19 October 2026, while the SkyTrak ST MAX was $1,695 on sale at SkyTrak ($2,995 regular). Garmin Golf costs $99.99 a year; SkyTrak plans run $99.99 to $599.99 a year.
Does the SkyTrak ST MAX work with GSPro like the Garmin R10?
We could not confirm that it does. SkyTrak’s ST MAX and membership pages list only SkyTrak’s own app and course packs. Carl’s Golfland lists GSPro, E6 Connect, Awesome Golf and Creative Golf for the R10.
How much room do the SkyTrak and Garmin R10 need?
The R10 needs more depth. Garmin’s guidance calls for at least 15 x 8 x 8 feet, with the unit 6 to 8 feet behind the ball. PlayBetter suggests about 10 x 10 x 9 feet for the side-mounted ST MAX, and SkyTrak’s studio guide suggests 17 feet of depth for a full studio.
What warranty do SkyTrak and Garmin give?
SkyTrak’s ST MAX page states 6 months or 25,000 shots, whichever comes first. The R10 seller pages we read on 19 October 2026 did not state a warranty term, so check with the seller before you buy.




